Lace Day

Had a fabulous adventure this weekend with my good friend Ruth. We went to Lace Day in Torrance, and boy, was it something! I’m so glad she convinced me to go! At first I was dismayed that there wasnt much crochet stuff there at all, but that quickly dissolved into astonishment… I, for the first time in my short life, saw real life bobbin lace making! I spent nearly a half hour talking to one lady of the Freeway Lace Guild, and she patiently explained to me as much as she could, from bobbins, to the pinning, to the patterns, to twisting and turning and braiding, and even let me move some bobbins around. It was amazing, and I am really grateful for the opportunity to see such fine handiwork. I am intrigued at how intricate and complicated it all seems… Unfortunately my brain was Out To Lunch, and I forgot my camera, but here’s a picture from http://lace.lacefairy.com/BeginGuide.html to show you something similar to what the lady from the Freeway Lace Guild was making (and Goddess Bless, allowing me to mess with!!!).

The super amazing thing? There were a few young, like 8, year old girls making bobbin lace motifs – dolphins and fairies. Wow.

So after I was done being speechless over the really incredible lace, I wandered over to the tatting tables. I’ve always wondered at that craft, not knowing much about it beyond the need for a shuttle and other things, but I quickly fell in love with this glorious and delicate tatted bookmark in greens and varigated threads to make flowers. That, and that really awesome Celtic Knot book… so, I decided this Dog aint old enough for New Tricks just yet, and bought 2 shuttles and a How To book. Ruth sat with me for a bit after we were done spending money and wandering around rather awe struck, and she showed me how to knot and make loops and picots. It was fairly simple, although we’ll see how I feel about that when I sit down to try to make something Celtic. *lol*

Other finds? A really awesome yoke book with reproduced patters from the teens n twenties. Eventually i’d like to make some for nighties and gowns. Oh, and a, get this, size 16 hook. Yes, folks, that’s a size 16 STEEL crochet hook. My, my, so small. Oh, and finally, a hairpin lace loom!!!!

When we were done, we went off to a coolio spice store where I got mulling spices for sachets and some spendy cinnamon for my coffee (but not strong enough for coffee, methinks, based on this AM. But DH liked it over his sugary milk-rice the night before). Then, this overwhelming asian version of Costco, called Marukai. omg, wow! it was a neato place full of labels i couldnt read, but delightful ceramic dishes, cool gadgets for the kitchen, and some of the softest cotton undershirts and capri shorts for under skirts. Must go back when rich, oh yes.

Ruth went back the following day, but I was ready for some down time, house cleaning, errand running, crocheting and pogo playing, so I opted out. Apparently, there was this massive table there where all fiber was 4 bucks (Dang It!). Sweet darling Ruth got me this… for 4 bucks. Nearly 2 pounds of fingering yarn, rayon and cotton. For 4 bucks. I kid you not! YAAAARRRRNN!!!

One thought on “Lace Day

Leave a Reply

